Review: The Fault In Our Stars

It’s hard going to read a book in your ‘To Read’ list. Sometimes, I can’t remember where I got the recommendation from, so I’ll check it out online and skip it if it’s doesn’t look 100% amazing. That’s exactly what happened to me with THE FAULT IN OUR STARS. I went to read it, then read the synopsis on Amazon and sort of thought ‘Hmm… sounds depressing. And a female POV by a male author? They don’t always get that right. Might come back to it.’

Then I kept scrolling through my ‘To Read’ list. And found THE FAULT IN OUR STARS. Not once. Oh, no. I had listed this book down as one to read on four separate occasions.

With this in mind, I decided to throw caution to the wind and purchase the book and not for a second do I regret it. This book is exquisite. Here’s what the Goodreads synopsis says:

Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 13, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now. 
Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault. 

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.

Everything I ever thought about this book was wrong. Sure, it’s a sad book, but it’s beautifully sad. It broke my heart but made me ask questions about the world, about the bigger picture and about the point of life. It wasn’t sad for the sake of it; and it managed to be uplifting despite the depressing theme. When I cried while reading this, it was with relief, not with heartache.

Not only that, but John Green perfectly captures a unique voice with his female protagonist, Hazel. Her views on the world, her experiences falling in love, learning to open her heart and appreciate the little things – he does it, and he does it well. John Green, are you sure you weren’t a female in a previous life?

Finally, despite all the hype, despite my four recommendations of this book which did lead to me being somewhat skeptical going in, it was still The Best Book I Have Read This Year. It had so much possibility to fail – but it just didn’t. And, once I read it I recommended it to a friend – and she loved it to.

This is such a rave review, but I don’t care. Some books deserve them and, in my opinion, THE FAULT IN OUR STARS definitely does. If you haven’t read it, you should definitely add it to your ‘To read’ list. Maybe even three or four times … do it for me, will you?

 

6 thoughts on “Review: The Fault In Our Stars

  1. I was sooo hesitant to read this one too. But you have no excuses. Tsk, tsk. I reviewed this (glowingly) on my blog already. You shouldn’t have made my mistake.

    I love how you felt this book was a beautiful sad. I love those types of books.

    • Haha I know, right? Well, technically I did have an excuse – see, maybe this was one of the books I was looking for when I gave you feedback about getting a review tab :p

      Nah, just kidding, am sure you were probably one of the four people whose reviews made me add it to my list on the first place! So excited to have just joined good reads now… Life should be easier.

Leave a Reply

