From writer to…video editor?

So, I have a confession to make: I am in no way a videographer/photographer/good with any kind of device that captures a live image. After all, that’s why I write; I’m not so good at the talking/looking/being normal part.

That’s why, when I decided to make a trailer for my upcoming release (and by upcoming, I mean MONDAY! SHA-WOW!) I was more than a little apprehensive about the results.

I knew what I wanted; a clip that incorporated movement. I love clips of still photos and music, but Finding Home is a very action-driven story, and I thought I could convey it better with music and movement than a selection of stills.

There were challenges; I enlisted my lovely fiance to help me film, and he was just amazing. Honestly, the eightieth time I asked him to watch me drink a shot of bourbon then spit it out because it ‘wasn’t framed how I wanted it’, I think he may have considered forcing the rest of the bottle down my throat.

Luckily for me, he didn’t make me. As I’m sure, if I was drunk, this trailer would be even worse than it currently is.

Nonetheless, if you have a spare 25 seconds, I’d love it if you watched my first ever book trailer, Finding Home.

3 thoughts on “From writer to…video editor?

Leave a comment