Book Spotlight: February or Forever

I love my fellow Escape Publishing authors. Not only are they a funny, giving bunch, they’re also pretty damn talented! Undoubtedly one of my favourite romance authors there would have to be the lovely Juliet Madison.
I am particularly excited about this release as it’s a coastal romance, and as a beachside-living girl, well, let’s just say it’s near and dear to my heart. And now, for all the good stuff …

FEBRUARY OR FOREVER by Juliet Madison

FoFGenre: Contemporary coastal romance, women’s fiction.

Available worldwide from all ebook retailers 1st February.

Published by Escape Publishing.

In this heartwarming coastal romance, Escape bestselling author Juliet Madison asks, what if your favourite celebrity fell in love with you?

Yoga teacher and single mother, Chrissie Burns has a plan: move into the rundown beach house left to her by her deceased aunt, renovate it, sell it, and move on. The scene of a terrible accident years ago, the house needs to get out of Chrissie’s hands as soon as possible.

But Tarrin’s Bay, where the house stands, has more to offer than bad memories. The town is lovely, the people friendly, and even Chrissie’s young son finds friends and begins coming out of his shell. Employed at Serendipity Retreat as a yoga instructor, Chrissie is shocked to be given the role of private teacher to Drew Williams, Australia’s top singer/songwriter for the month.

Relationships between instructors and clients are strictly forbidden, but Drew draws happiness out of Chrissie with his down-to-earth nature and sense of humour. Days of stretching and bending may bring Chrissie unexpected peace and strength, but she knows that this interlude must end, and there’s no pose or position to aid her when Drew walks away and leaves her broken-hearted.

Buy Now: Amazon / Amazon UK / Amazon Aus / iTunes / Kobo / B&N Nook / GooglePlay / All Romance / Ebooks.Com / Booktopia / JB Hi-Fi / Big W / Escape Publishing

Watch the Book Video Trailer:  http://youtu.be/TI3adsN70VQ

Visit Juliet online: website, blog, facebook, Goodreads, and twitter.

Excerpt:

Chrissie looked up at the sky. ‘Such a beautiful, clear night.’

‘It is.’ Drew glanced up too, the stars embellishing the sky like twinkling jewels. ‘You know, when I was a kid, I used to think stars were like guardian angels or something. Coming out at night to watch over the world. One star for each person on earth.’

‘How beautiful. Maybe they are, who knows.’

‘I was quite disappointed when my dad informed me that they were simply collections of gas hovering in the sky and the glow is due to simple physics and chemistry.’

‘Trust science to spoil something so wondrous.’

‘Yeah. I had it in for science since then. Rebelled by becoming a musician.’ He glanced at Chrissie and grinned.

‘You know, I’m surprised you still have a hundred percent of your Aussie accent. You’d think after so long in the States you would have developed a bit of an accent.’

‘Ah, you can take me out of the country but you can’t take the country outta me.’ He chuckled.

‘Good to see.’ Chrissie said. ‘So, what do you love most about being a singer?’

‘Well, the thrill of singing of course, but mostly I love creating something that didn’t exist before. Lyrics, a melody, a beat. Bringing emotions and thoughts and ideas to life and sharing them with others. So satisfying.’ His words exuded passion, and a calm, content buzz hung in the air around them, like time didn’t matter, only this moment. ‘And then there’s the bonus of meeting people like you.’ He nudged her in the side with his elbow.

Chrissie lowered her chin and smiled. ‘Well I never thought I’d be teaching yoga to a celebrity whose work I admire so much.’

‘Aw, thanks. Life is strange, eh? But as for celebrity, I’ve never really got used to that word. I don’t feel like a celebrity, I just feel like me.’

‘How have you managed to stay so down to earth and humble?’ Chrissie asked. ‘Your life’s been in the spotlight since you were barely an adult and yet, talking to you, being with you, you don’t have any of the attitude that some others in your position seem to have.’

Drew shrugged. ‘I’ve had some good mentors to keep me grounded. One of them said to me early on, “Don’t put on an act. Let your performances be an extension of who you are. If you pretend to be something you’re not, you’ll spend your life trying to live up to that image and you’ll lose yourself in the process.”’

‘What wise words.’

‘Indeed. I’ll have to pass them onto Gemma before she gets carried away with the allure of bright lights and applause.’

‘Good idea.’ Chrissie thought about her own career, and how much more herself she’d felt when she switched from journalism to yoga teaching. ‘That’s what I love about yoga. It allows people, no matter who they are or what they’ve done, to just be themselves for a while. Get back to basics and nourish their mind and body.’

‘Exactly why I wanted these classes this month,’ Drew replied. ‘And so far, they’ve given me all that and more. I’ll definitely be keeping up with daily practise when I get home.’ Drew lay on his back, his hands joined together behind his head and bent knees pointing upwards.

‘I’m glad.’ Well, glad about the yoga, not about the going home bit.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Spotlight: February or Forever

Leave a Reply

