Valentine’s lovin’ with Elise K. Ackers

Today, I am lucky enough to have my fellow Escape Publishing author, Elise K. Ackers, on the blog. I, for one, am SO excited to read her latest novel, Dear Stranger, a short story about finding love on Valentine’s Day. Read on … 
9780857991249_14001. What was the first thing you wrote that made you realise: you’re a writer?
The first story I can remember writing that I thought was good enough to be seen beyond my family and friends, was an epic pirate adventure story; complete with a big red ‘X’, quicksand and swashbuckling best friends. I was in year five, I think.
2. Traditional publishers vs indie vs small press … what do you love most and why?
Can I be a total fence-sitter and say I love them all? Indie and small press publishing has given writers a platform and measure of control they might not have otherwise got from a traditional publisher. And traditional publishers are changing things in an effort to keep pace with up-to-the-minute publications and higher royalty entitlements. I think that competition is a great thing in any industry, and I’m interested to see where things go from here.
3. You’re stuck on a desert island. You’re hoping the library is stocked with … 
 Survival how-to guides. Preferably the “For Dummies” editions! 😉
4. When it comes to your biggest writing weakness, what would it be?
 Probably finding the ‘off’ button. I sleep far less than I’d like to, I edit until I give myself the shakes. When I’m focused on a project, everything in my peripheral vision blurs, so it’s a really good thing when someone boots me out the door with a reminder that the world’s going on without me. In short, I’m a bit of a workaholic, my weakness is progress. I want it all the time.
5. In 50 words or less, tell us about your novel.
 Dear Stranger is a short-story about spreading love on Valentine’s Day. Reese Ahearn writes love letters to strangers and leaves them around her city for people to find. Ian is one such lucky stranger, but he’s determined to write this mystery woman a reply.
About Dear Stranger
A beautiful love letter to the most troublesome of holidays…
Soft-hearted Reese Ahearn is single for Valentine’s Day. Again. But that’s not going to stop her from spreading the holiday’s sentiment on the streets of Melbourne with short, sweet, anonymous love letters, left for strangers to find.
The last thing she expects, however, is a reply…
 
Elise K. Ackers
About the author
Elise K. Ackers is a romantic suspense and contemporary romance author based in Melbourne, Australia. She is a 2013 Romantic Book of the Year finalist, print and ebook published with Destiny Romance and Escape Publishing, and known to do some pretty strange stuff in the name of research.  You can chat with her on Facebook and Twitter (@EliseKAckers), and find out more at her author website.
 Check out Elise on her website, the Escape Publishing website, or as a Destiny Romance contributor.
 
Leave a Reply

