My Writing Process: Blog Tour

I’ve been tagged in the My Writing Process blog tour by the fabulous Ros Baxter. Ros is a fellow author at Escape Publishing with me, and she is one talented lady. Make sure you check out Fish Out of Water, in particular — one of my Ros faves. 
And now … blog hop time!

Close portraitWhat am I working on? I’m currently working on the sequel to The Problem With Crazy, my new release, called The Problem With Heartache. It’s a challenge for me as I’ve never written a sequel before, and I have to admit, it’s pretty freaking daunting. Especially because what if no one likes book one? Then who will buy book two?
Still, I’m really loving working with characters I’ve already developed, and not having to do that whole ‘Getting to know you’ process with the people in my head. And that doesn’t sound crazy at all … right?
How does my work differ from others of its genre? Hmm … well … it doesn’t that much! Okay, it’s a New Adult contemporary, and it is a little difference, I guess, in the sense that it’s set in Australia, unlike a lot of others, and deals with a serious illness, Huntington’s disease. Working with an illness that perhaps isn’t as well-known to people as, say, cancer, has meant conducting extensive research, and trying to find a way to impart information without sounding like a brochure. So I guess that’s different?

Why do I write what I do? I write because I LOVE it; it’s that simple. I write what I do as I love the YA/NA age group. I feel like there’s so much change going on at that point in your life, that character growth has so much potential.
I wrote The Problem With Crazy because I wanted to draw attention to this disease, and because I wanted to make people feel. Which I hope it does.

How does your writing process work? I’m not 100 per cent sure that it does! Basically, I like to hammer out a draft quick smart, then go over and do a gazillion revisions. I’m a loose planner, and I like deciding roughly what I want the book to say and where I want it to go before I put fingers to keyboard.
I also write best under the influence of wine and cheese. That’s just how I am …

Tune in next Monday for the two authors I have tagged in this tour:

Dionne Lister Editor and author extraordinaire, Dionne is a kick-ass writer who “loves sharing her stories, but wishes they wouldn’t keep her awake at night.” Click here for her blog.  

Lili St. Germain: If you like books with super-cool heroines and a burning desire for revenge, you won’t be able to go past Lili St. Germain. Click here for her blog. 

Leave a Reply

