Interview: Stacey Nash w/ Forget Me Not

It’s not every day you start a sentence with ‘Oh. That’s pretty much my writing best friend, who I know from a video competition on the Internet.’ And yet, that’s exactly how Stacey Nash and I met.
Stacey is my lifesaver. She beta reads all my work, sometimes three times over, and wades through my ridiculous plot ideas with me. She’s there for me, when I need a friend both professionally AND personally, and not only that, but I’ve tricked her into writing a book with me later this year.
More importantly, this woman is amazingly talented. She has created a fantastic series I adore, she is organised, professional, and has a book that is going to SKY-ROCKET through the charts. If you’re reading this, you should be so lucky as to meet my lovely friend, Stacey Nash! Here is my interview with her …

1. The three things most important things I’ve learnt about writing are …

  • Discipline: There are no excuses. Just write. If you don’t write regularly the story will be finished. So kick that self doubt away because everything can be fixed in revision.
  • Resilience: not everyone will like my story. Reading is such a subjective thing that we need to realise everyone has different taste.
  • Find good CPs: people who care about you and get your writing. A bad CP is worse than none at all because their criticism can be crippling, but a CP who praises everything and doesn’t find the issues is just as bad. You’ll never improve. When you find those people that you just click with, hold onto them. They’re rare, and more precious than The One Ring.

2. Do you have any processes or rituals before you sit down to write?

I always catch up on my emails and social media before I start writing. Other than that, there are no real rituals unless you count making sure the children are tucked into bed / off to school.

3. Your book has a killer love triangle in it; who do you prefer? The bad boy or the boy next door?

Gosh, I can’t answer that. Characters are like kids, there are no favourites. I think both the boys have qualities that make them lovable and attractive. They’re just very different. Will’s the lovable boy next door that would put his life before Mae’s every time. Jax is a little more complicated, but it doesn’t mean his feelings are any less valid or intense. I love them both.

4. Do you have a real-life love story you’d like to share?

Umm…my hubby and I met at university when we were both nineteen. Years (I’m not telling how many) later we’re still happily married with a young family.

5. How do you find being an Australian author with an American publisher?

I actually really like it. My book has always had an American setting and an American main character, so I guess it was geared toward that market. Time zones are a bit tricky, but other than that it’s worked just fine.

6. What was the biggest obstacle for you when it came to making your manuscript Americanised?

I did a find replace for mum to change it to mom. I use mumble a few times in the manuscript so umm, they changed to mombles. I didn’t notice until after I’d submitted it. Doh.  Seriously though, it wasn’t really the spelling that was tricky, so much as the words that I never realised were purely Aussie terms; like loo, or breaky, even reef as in ‘he reefed it out of my hand.’ My editor had no idea what they meant.

7. What’s the one thing you think writers can’t live without?

Their muse. When the inspiration disappears it’s near impossible to write.

8. Forget Me Not is a great book for people who like … 

A fast pace full of action, adventure and romance. Reviewers have said:

  • If you like bad boys on motorcycles, smart, sassy heroines, and the kind of plot twists that literally make you gasp out loud …
  • I highly recommend Forget Me Not for people who love story-driven YA.

Title: Forget Me Not (Book I in the Collective series)
Author: Stacey Nash
Release Date: February 17, 2014
Publisher: Entranced Publishing, Rush
Genre: YA speculative fiction


ForgetMeNot_1800x2700 (3)
Since her mother vanished nine years ago, Anamae and her father have shared a quiet life. But when Anamae discovers a brooch identical to her mother’s favorite pendant, she unknowingly invites a slew of trouble into their world. When the brooch and the pendant are worn together they’re no longer pretty pieces of jewelry — they’re part of a highly developed technology capable of cloaking the human form. Triggering the jewelry’s power attracts the attention of a secret society determined to confiscate the device — and silence everyone who is aware of its existence. Anamae knows too much, and now she’s Enemy Number One.
She’s forced to leave her father behind when she’s taken in by a group determined to keep her safe. Here Anamae searches for answers about this hidden world. With her father kidnapped and her own life on the line, Anamae must decide if saving her dad is worth risking her new friends’ lives. No matter what she does, somebody is going to get hurt.

goodreads
What Others Had to Say:
“I certainly won’t be forgetting Nash’s debut, FORGET ME NOT! A vividly fast-paced tale with adventure, secrets, and kissing!” -Kimberly P. Chase, Author of THE APOLLO ACADEMY.

Buy Links:

amazon

Barnes & Noble

Want to enter a competition to win ALL THE COOL THINGS?
a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 thoughts on “Interview: Stacey Nash w/ Forget Me Not

Leave a Reply

