Erica Hayes: SCORCHED

Today I have one of my fellow members of the Hunter Romance Writers, the lovely Erica Hayes, on my blog, talking her latest release: SCORCHED. Check it out!

Hello everyone, and thanks to Lauren for hosting me on her blog today! I write fantasy for adults, rather than YA or NA like Lauren does. Still, a common theme in books for younger-than-adult (if I can call it that?) is “finding yourself”. Finding your purpose. What are we here for? Where do I fit in to the world? What should I do with my life?

Verity, the heroine in my book SCORCHED, is about to find a new purpose. It’s an urban fantasy, so magic happens: Verity is a telekinetic crimefighter who’s suffered a humiliating defeat at the hands of her archenemy, a kick-ass villain named Razorfire. He didn’t just kill her, oh no. That would be too easy. He wanted to make her suffer. So she’s just escaped from the horrid lunatic asylum he locked her up in, and she’s devoting her life to a new purpose: revenge.

Here’s an excerpt, where for the first time she begins to fully understand what he’s done to her. She’s putting on a new face, taking on a new identity to personify her rage.

Scorched_sm

I froze, towel halfway to my dripping hair. Leaned closer. Slowly wiped the mirror clean.

A horrid sickle-shaped scar curled over my left cheek, from my temple to the side of my nose. The skin there was seared away, replaced with shiny red scar tissue. Half my eyebrow had burned away for good. My cheekbone was dented, and when I touched it, it ached faintly, the echo of something lost.

Christ on a cracker. I’d never been pretty. But this…

Memories of pain scorched my mind. The helmet, current arcing blue, skin sizzling to the backdrop of my screams…

I wanted to scream again, claw at my face. They’d carved me up pretty good. I should be thankful my eye had been saved. That the damage was only cosmetic.

But it wasn’t.

The bruises, the welt where the augmentium helmet had cut into my scalp: they’d heal. But the burned scar was too old, too brutally deep. I’d never fix this. I’d have to live with it forever. And every time I touched it—every time I glimpsed my reflection, in a mirror or a window or someone else’s eyes—I’d remember what Razorfire had done to me.

Guess it was lucky for me I wore a mask most of the time, then.

I let out a deep breath, and stared my scarred reflection down. I had stuff to do. No point crying over what’s lost.

Not that I ever rated much in the beauty department to start with, right? The Seeker, in her mask and tight leather, attracted far more interest from the opposite sex than plain Verity ever did, and that suited me just fine. Lots of guys thought it was kinky to sleep with a masked vigilante. They never wanted her phone number afterwards. But relationships are a tedious mess of half-truths when you’ve got a secret identity to protect, and the Seeker just took what she wanted and vanished into the night. Fun all round, no one gets hurt.

But still, as I studied my new scar-bright face, the hungry hate-seed inside me burrowed fresh poison shoots into my heart. This went above and beyond normal hostilities. The damage was spiteful, unnecessary. When I finally caught up with Razorfire—and I would, so help me, if it sucked out every last drop of my strength—maybe I’d return the favor before I killed him.

 

So, do you think it’ll turn out well for her? Probably not, eh? The only person revenge ever worked out well for was the Count of Monte Cristo… but hey, I guess you never know…

I’m currently working on book 2 of the series. Verity’s story isn’t over yet. I hope you enjoy the books, because I had loads of fun writing them. Thanks again to Lauren for hosting me today!

About Scorched

Scorched_sm

In a world where everyone wears a mask, you can’t trust anyone… not even yourself.
Verity Fortune was once Sapphire City’s top crime-fighter, wielding her powers of telekinesis to battle the city’s most despicable villains.
Now, she’s consumed by a single burning desire: revenge. Against those who took away her mask, her memory, and nearly her life.
Having escaped from the asylum they left her to rot in, Verity dons her mask once again and becomes the Seeker, a vigilante warrior for truth.
But when she unwittingly uncovers an evil conspiracy deep within her own family, she’s suddenly on the run, alone and hunted by those she thought were on her side…

 

Buy it now on Amazon, Amazon UK, Amazon Australia, Kobo, or iBookstore.

f4787-goodreads-buttonAnd don’t forget to learn more about Erica at her website, or on Facebook or twitter.

 

One thought on “Erica Hayes: SCORCHED

Leave a Reply

