LM#2 – YA Thriller/MY SECRET LIFE AS A TEENAGE ASSASSIN

LM#2

MY SECRET LIFE AS A TEENAGE ASSASSIN

YA Thriller

64,000 words

PITCH: When Mikaela infiltrates her parents’ assassin organization to protect her boyfriend, she gets in deeper than she planned and must resist becoming a full-time killer herself.

IF YOUR MC WAS AN EASTER EGG, WHAT FLAVOUR WOULD HE/SHE BE: Dark chocolate; I show my dark side to others as my cover.

FIRST 300 WORDS: 

Please let my boyfriend walk out of here alive, I prayed. I’d avoided this moment for as long as I could, but of course, it had to happen.

“Mikaela?” Cory’s voice broke through my thoughts. I could feel his eyes watching me from where he sat in the passenger’s seat.

“Yeah?” I clutched the steering wheel and stared out the windshield, even though I’d already parked the car and cut it off. We were at my gray, suburban two-story house. An ordinary home that made my parents appear normal to the outside world.

“Are you okay? I know you’re nervous about this, but you look pale.”

“I’m not nervous.”

“Riiight. It took us fifteen minutes to get here, and it’s a seven-minute ride from my house to yours. And now look at you. Geez, we’re just having dinner with your parents.”

“It’s not just dinner. It’s a boyfriend-meets-the-parents dinner.” I swallowed.

“Yeah, and everything’s going to be fine. So why do you look scared to go inside your own house?”

If only he knew. “I have a lot on my mind.”

“Like what?”

Like how your body might end up at the bottom of a river tonight. “Just . . . stuff that happened last year.”

“Oh.” Cory was quiet a moment, then said, “Is that why it took so long for you to take me to meet your parents? Because of what happened to your ex?”

I swallowed. “Why would you think that?”

Cory shrugged. “I don’t know. Maybe you thought I might disappear like he did, so you didn’t want me getting too close to your family.”

I couldn’t stop myself from laughing out loud, albeit nervously. There was a better chance he’d disappear after he met my parents, not before.

One thought on “LM#2 – YA Thriller/MY SECRET LIFE AS A TEENAGE ASSASSIN

Leave a Reply

